The CCCLM has a history of over 50 years. The origins of the organisation date back to 1957 when the Lord Mayors, meeting at the Melbourne Town Hall, agreed that a Capital Cities Exchange Bureau be established. Before that, meetings of Lord Mayors were on an ad hoc basis.

In 1963 the Lord Mayors, at a meeting in Hobart, agreed to the continuing operation of the Australian Capital Cities Secretariat. Each Council committed funding to cover the necessary operating costs of the Secretariat.

The 1982 the organisation adopted the new name of the Council of Capital City Lord Mayors.


The Council of Capital City Lord Mayors will provide national leadership and a strong voice to advance the value that our cities contribute to the nation.

Mission Statement

To provide national leadership for the effective co-ordination and representation of the special interests of the Capital Cities of the Australian States and Territories, especially in their relations with other spheres of government.


  • To achieve recognition of the roles and status of capital cities as integral and vital parts of the Australian system of government.
  • To establish direct relationships and partners at all levels of Australian government to effectively implement programs.
  • To develop effective advocacy and leadership to influence policy on issues affecting capital cities and their wider metropolitan regions.